Mercy Bucket

Witty little ditties of life and language.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

on May 21, 2013

I have a lot of idiosyncrasies. I’m sure people who know me can things of many other things to call them, but that’s the term I like best 🙂

It’s not a secret that I like noticing idiosyncrasies. And that I like pointing them out.

Other people’s quirks are mostly what will either endear me to you, or alienate me from you.

If I’m around you enough, or for long enough, or even sometimes if a quirk is strong enough, I will inevitably imitate or adapt one or more of your idiosyncrasies. It’ll become part of my personality, blend in with the rest of my own quirks.

Sometimes, I’ll retain them, even if (through choice or chance) you are no longer a part of my life.

Here’s a few examples off the top of my head:

Only saying “I’m fine” when I’m actually not. An ex of mine called me out on it, quoting this: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=f.i.n.e. Previous to him pointing this out, I used to say “I’m good” when I was ok (which isn’t strictly grammatically correct, but that’s another post).

Eating mackerel. Usually when you ask me if I like fish, I’ll say no. It’s just easier that way. What I mean is that I will eat tuna, salmon, and thanks to a different ex of mine, mackerel. But there are normally other foods I prefer to eat, given the choice.

Sticking my finger into the bubbles in drinks when it threatens to spill over. An ex-friend of mine once told me this trick. I refused to believe her until she demonstrated. Now I do it without even realising, it’s just instinctive.

Answering “maybe” to most ambiguous questions and statements. I used to say maybe to 80% of the times I actually meant  yes but didn’t want to admit to it. A friend of mine used to answer maybe to 98% of questions, and if I had to guess, 96% of the times he meant no but was too “polite” to say so. At first, I started repeating it back to him every time he said it; my way of picking up on his quirk, though with hindsight, I’m sure it was probably more annoying than endearing. Recently, I’ve noticed (and even he’s commented) that I say it far more than he does.

Being generally ruder to people in the name of “banter”. This one is thanks to my flatmates. Living with boys is a whole new experience. And, as much as I love them, I sure hope that this one doesn’t stick. I’m all for having a joke, but they walk a very fine line between humour and insults and I prefer a larger distinction.

Some quirks I adopt manage to come full circle and, thankfully in most cases, I phase them back out. A prime example of this is the “epic fail” / “babe” catastrophe I had back in first year 🙂


One response to “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

  1. […] as I alluded to here: https://mercybucket.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/imitation/, when I speak, my grammatical correctness is dictated by the authenticity of the statement […]

Leave a comment